The restrictions had been put in place in the wake of the accident at the Fukushima Daiichi in 2011. After the accident, the British government had required submission of radioactive material inspection certificates and more for products to be imported from nine prefectures, including Fukushima and Miyagi.

“Japan welcomes the decision by the British government based on scientific grounds,” said Prime Minister Kishida. Prime Minister Johnson responded, “We thank Japan for having waited very patiently.” Though the end may have taken longer than expected, Johnson said that he was glad.

Currently, South Korea, China, Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwan, Indonesia, Russia, the EU and EFTA (Norway, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, and Iceland), Northern Ireland, and French Polynesia maintain controls on imports from Fukushima and elsewhere.